23:11:08 :::: radioShirley presents “What’s in a Name?”

shirl_name_mo

Greetings Shirleyphiles and welcome to another 40 minutes or so of low-fi lovliness!

So gang … what IS in a name? How much does your moniker reflect your personality?
Are you a Glen or a Glenda? A Joseph or a Josephine.
Or perhaps you’re one of those … ahem … “fluid” types?

You know its said that animals sometimes resemble their owners. I’m not so
sure about that. I know of some very ugly dogs out there with very attractive
keepers and vice versa. Why only last week I spied a rather posh and manicured
to with an inch of her cuticles matron who had a definite air of the Shitsu about her.
She was a morphed wonder! A two in one! I was so surprised I had to do a double take.
For a moment I wondered whether the responsible community minded in me should
alert the appropriate animal welfare authorities. There was Madame Shitsu roaming
the streets without her collar on! Well, not quite, She was dripping in a pearl necklace.


Best in show? And didn’t she know it … darling!

Musing on the topic of names, mr.K has muddled through the library and put together
a wonderful selection from the Bonzo Dog DooDah Band, Shirley Ellis, The Everly Brothers,
This Is Serious Mum, Tina Britt, Department S, Pink Floyd, Dudley Moore Trio,
Blood, Sweat & Tears, Steve Fisk, Yusef Islam, Dory Previn, Tiny Tim with Brave Combo,
Georgie Fame and The Kinks wrapping it all up with Ray Davies’ rather perceptive tale
based on the relationship with his band brother, Dave. Apparently, Dave is Sybilla and
Ray, Priscilla. I can relate to that!


You want to try out another name? Thanks to {feuilleton} for THIS timely link!
Tell us yours in the comments below … I’ll tell you mine 😉

Enjoy!

So until next time Shirleyphiles, take care and play fair.

*be smooched*
laShirl and mr.Kenneth

About radioShirley

music2bubble'n'squeak2

4 comments

  1. chaiscout

    Well, well, well, trust mrK to bring us wonderful things we never knew existed – for me it’s Dory Previn from this show! 🙂
    I had to abandon my excel file and run right over to youtube to check out what else of hers they had on offer. Kudos, mrK! In case you were wondering, btw, my dogs are as beautiful (on the inside) as their owner (on the inside), & we’re all growing older together, does that count?!

  2. radioshirley

    ahhh … chaiscout … so glad I could intro you to Dory Previn! Thanks for stopping by.

    An acupuncturist friend played me much Dory way back last century. She had practically everything Dory had recorded and could fill me in on the background of various tracks.

    For example “Beware of Young Girls” I understand is a stunning stab at deception and friendship aimed squarely at Mia Farrow after Mia got her mits into André. Dory slices up the situation very cleanly indeed. “Lemon Haired Ladies” is along the same lines.

    “In Search of Mythical Kings (The U.A. Years)” is a very good starter compilation to discover some of the breadth of her fine work. But as with most comps, gems are overlooked and are buried deep inside other recordings.

    I think you could pick up any of her recordings and hit a rich vein of music and poetry.

    Darling … you are gorgeous on the out as well as the in … as I’m sure are the canines. And growing older together is what really counts.

    *be smooched*
    Ken & Shirl

  3. ib

    Sybilla & Priscilla; a finer pair of siblings it’s hard to comprehend. The studio rivalries and on stage remonstrations popped and crackled through some of the best music of the 60s and 70s. “Death of a Clown” demonstrates with Lolaesque panache that Sybilla was determined not to lurk in the back seat forever. What a superb song.

    Personally, I’ve never really been enthusiastic regarding my own registered moniker. I feel my mum and dad might have been a tad more imaginative.

  4. radioshirley

    indeed ib … the talent obviously runs in the family … but it always seems Kinks = Ray Davies to most.

    I’m just glad my eldest sister wasn’t able to convince Mum and Dad in the end to christen me Elvis! True!

    oh … the horror …

Leave a Reply

